Moorambilla’s 13th Gala Concert 2018



The amazing choirs of Moorambilla Voices celebrated 13 splendid years in the iconic MOORAMBILLA GALA CONCERT, held in Dubbo over two days on Friday 28th & Saturday the 29th September 2018.

The 80-minute concert left all mesmerized and uplifted. All three concerts were sold out and the audience felt firsthand the power of the Japanese Taiko drums, listened to the beauty of the angelic voices of the Moorambilla Regional Girls and Boys Choir and the MAXed OUT Company.

Founder and Artistic Director Michelle Leonard OAM celebrated 2018 with the beauty and capacity of the Brewarrina Fishtraps and Byrock Waterholes.

These concerts brought to life in magnificent choral music, dynamic dance and powerful percussion the stories and landscape of Byrock Rock Holes and Brewarrina Fish Traps, written by leading and emerging Australian composers Chance, Barker, Howes, Walker and Gibson.

2018 concerts also featured digital visual and sound artists from the region and beyond giving this year’s performance a truly contemporary edge. Magnificent fire sculptures and lanterns under the night sky after the 7pm concerts on Friday and Saturday evenings captivated all that attended.

Be prepared to be amazed by the photography of Noni Carroll capturing the passion and creativity of this region’s children and youth. This is Moorambilla Voices 2018!


Moorambilla Artists 2018


• Artistic Director Michelle Leonard OAM
• Three Moorambilla Voices choirs, including MAXed OUT Company high school ensemble, Regional Girls and Regional Boys Choirs
• Australian Composers Kevin Barker, Alice Chance and Josephine Gibson
• International Taiko Artist, Anton Lock
• Taikoz, one of Australia’s most versatile music percussion ensemble with Sophie Unsen
• Australia’s leading vocal ensemble, with Hannah Fraser, Clive Birch, Deepka Ratra, Richard Black, Chloe Lankshear and Adele Kozak.
• The Chamber Ensemble in Residence, with Nicole Forsyth, Martin Alexander, Matthew Hoy, Jack Ward, Rachel Pogson, Andrew Wilson, Kirsty McCahon and Christina Leonard.
• Accompanist Ben Burton
• Choreography by Jacob Williams, originally from Dubbo, with Courtney Scheu from Brisbane.
• Speaker Clive Birch
• Lantern artworks made by Jyllie Jackson, founder and artistic director of the Lismore Lantern Parade, with Sara Tinning
• Photographers in residence Noni Carroll and Itamar Freed
• Resident visual artist Omila Bir
• Phil Relf fire sculpture artist
• MAP by Halloran, Carroll & Lee

Photography: Noni Carroll Photography